The 2018 Contemporary African Photography Prize Shortlist

The 2018 Contemporary African Photography Prize Shortlist

The Contemporary African Photography Prize (CAP) has announced its 25 shortlisted photographers for its 2018 edition. Selected by the CAP Prize panel of judges, the shortlist includes photographers from Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Angola, Uganda, Mozambique, and Morocco, as well as from Europe and America.

In 2012, Swiss artist Benjamin Füglister founded CAP, which aims to raise the profile of African photography and encourage a rethinking of Africa’s image. Open to photographers from anywhere in the world whose work engages with the African continent or her diaspora, it picks out five winners every year and shows their work at major photography festivals around the world. This year, 800 photographers entered for the award.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The 25 selected photographers include Westerners now based in Africa such as Michele Sibiloni (based in Uganda) and Gilles Nicolet (based in Tanzania), as well as African-born photographers such as Amilton Neves Cuna (Mozambique), Esther Mbabazi (Uganda), and Phumzile Khanyile (South Africa).

Others shortlisted include Jenevieve Aken (Nigeria), Yassine Alaoui Ismaili (Morocco), Paul Botes (South Africa), David Chancellor (United Kingdom), Baptiste de Ville d’Avray (France), Ulla Deventer (Germany), Adji Dieye (Italy), Anna Boyiazis (United States), Ralph Eluehike (Nigeria), Patricia Esteve (Spain), Nneka Iwunna Ezemezue (Nigeria), Jonas Feige & Yana Wernicke (Nigeria), Tommaso Fiscaletti  & Nic Grobler (Italy), Jason Florio (United Kingdom), Akpo Ishola (Nigeria), Delio Jasse (Angola), Bas Losekoot (The Netherlands), Venetia Menzies (Scotland), Nura Qureshi (Germany) and Eve Tagny (Canada).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Their stories engage with a wide range of issues, including female access to swimming lessons in Zanzibar, the economic downturn in Luanda, and female genital mutilation.

The five winners will be announced at Photo Basel International Art Fair in June 2018. They were picked out by an international jury which included; Azu Nwagbogu, director, Lagos Photo Festival, Nigeria; Lekgetho James Makola, director, Market Photo Workshop, South Africa; Jeanne Mercier, curator and editor, Afrique in Visu, France; Yumi Goto, curator and director, Reminders Photography Stronghold, Japan; Shahidul Alam, photographer and director, Chobi Mela, Bangladesh; Peter DiCampo, photographer and co-founder, Everyday Africa, United States; and Simon Bainbridge, editor British Journal of Photography.

Recommended Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *